Madison County, Kentucky

Madison Co., KY

Madison County, Kentucky


In March of 1775, the Transylvania Company, under the leadership of Judge Richard Henderson and scout Daniel Boone, purchased a huge land tract that encompassed northern, central, and western Kentucky, from the Cherokee Indians at Sycamore Shoals on the Watauga River, in North Carolina. By May, the Transylvania colony and its capital - Boonesborough, located in Madison County - were formally established. Source: http://www.kdla.ky.gov/resources/countyomonth/madison.htm(external link)

Madison County was originally Madison County, Virginia and was formed from Lincoln County, Virginia. It was the 6th Kentucky county formed and was created on 1 Aug 1785.

Fort Boonesborough information:
http://www.fortboonesboroughfoundation.org/index.html(external link)

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Madison County is bordered by Fayette? on the north, Clark? to the northeast, Estill on the east, Jackson? in the southeast, Rockcastle? on the south, Garrard? in the southwest and Jessamine? to the northwest.

Gleanings From

Contributors to this page: Beverly88532 points  and @MartinB7411 points  .
Page last modified on Friday 25 of June, 2010 17:55:08 CDT by Beverly88532 points .