Wilkes County, North Carolina

Wilkes Co., NC

Wilkes Co., NC


The county was formed in 1777 from parts of Surry County and Washington District (now Washington County, Tennessee). The first session of the county court was held in John Brown's house near what is today Brown's Ford. The act creating the county became effective on February 15, 1778, and the county celebrates its anniversary as February 15. It was named for the English political radical John Wilkes, who lost his position as Lord Mayor of the City of London due to his support for the colonists during the American Revolution.

In 1799 the northern and western parts of Wilkes County became Ashe County.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Wilkes County is bordered by Alleghany, Surry, Yadkin?, Iredell, Alexander?, Caldwell?, Watauga?, Ashe and Forsyth? counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly89887 points  and system .
Page last modified on Thursday 16 of December, 2010 18:53:39 CST by Beverly89887 points .