Conway County, Arkansas

Conway Co., AR

Conway Co., AR


The Cherokee Indians owned land temporarily in north central Arkansas between 1817 and 1828 which included most of Conway County. The Southeast corner of the Western Cherokee Nation was located on Point Remove Creek, not far from Morrilton. Sequoyah, father of the Cherokee Alphabet, came to Arkansas in 1818...The Cherokee were eventually pressured into signing a treaty to give up their Arkansas lands.

There is a marker on the corner of Jackson and S. Cherokee in Morrilton that reads as follows: Conway County Cherokee Indian Boundary. On the north bank of the Arkansas River at the mouth of Point Remove Creek a line was run in a Northwesterly (sic northeasterly) direction to Batesville on White River. This line..was designated as the Eastern Boundary of the lands ceded by treaty in 1817 to the Western Cherokee Indians in exchange for lands given up by them in the states of Georgia and Tennessee.

Conway County was formed in 1825 out of Pulaski County and is named for Henry Wharton Conway who was the territorial delegate to the US Congress. At one time, Conway County covered an area of about 2,500 square miles and included most of Faulkner, Van Buren, Pope, Perry and part of Yell County.
Source: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~arconway/history.htm

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Conway County is bordered by Van Buren, Faulkner, Perry, Yell and Pope counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Thursday 30 of December, 2010 09:44:22 CST by Beverly.