Cobb County, Georgia

Cobb Co., GA

Cobb County, GA


Cobb was one of nine northwest Georgia counties carved out of Cherokee Indian country in 1832. It was initially home to Native Americans who had settled Sweet Water Town on Sweetwater Creek (southwest of Marietta), Big Shanty on Noonday Creek (Kennesaw), and Buffalo Fish (southeast of Marietta).

Cobb County was established on December 3, 1832 from the Cherokee Indian country, the territory northwest of the Chattahoochee River. It was part of the sixth Georgia Land Lottery. The county was named in honor of Thomas Willis Cobb of Greensboro. He was a U.S. Representative, U.S. Senator, and Georgia State Superior Court Judge.
Source: The History of Cobb County, Georgia

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Cobb County is bordered by Cherokee, Fulton, Milton, (Extinct) Paulding and Bartow counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and Richard .
Page last modified on Friday 09 of December, 2016 10:29:24 CST by Beverly.