Monroe County, Georgia

Monroe Co., GA

Monroe County, GA


Monroe County was created on May 15, 1821. It was named for James Monroe, the fifth president of the United States. Creek Indians held the land until 1821, when they surrendered it in the treaty resulting from their defeat at the Battle of Horseshoe Bend in 1814. Portions of Monroe County later went to the formation of Bibb, Butts, Lamar, and Pike counties.

Many of the first settlers were Scottish Highlanders who had lived previously in eastern Georgia. Others were of English and Irish descent, and many came from eastern Georgia, South Carolina, and Virginia. Their rural community dates back to 1739, but it was decades before the settlement became a town, first called Cullodenville to honor William Culloden, a merchant who settled there in 1780. The name was shortened to Culloden when the town was incorporated in 1887.

Source: The Georgia Encyclopedia - Monroe County

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Monroe County is bordered by Butts, Jasper, Jones, Bibb, Crawford, Upson and Lamar Counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and Richard .
Page last modified on Friday 14 of December, 2012 14:21:30 CST by Beverly.