Crittenden County, Kentucky

Crittenden Co., KY

Crittenden County, KY


Crittenden County was formed on 1 Apr 1842 from Livingston County. The county is named for John J. Crittenden who served as Attorney General under three presidents, U.S. Senator and the 15th Governor of Kentucky from 1848 to 1850.

The county was generally pro-Confederate during the American Civil War, both armies passed through the county repeatedly and several skirmishes took place. The county court house was burned by guerrillas in 1865 during the last months of the war.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Crittenden County is bordered by Union, Webster, Caldwell, Lyon and Livingston counties, in addition to Hardin County, Illinois.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly .
Page last modified on Monday 14 of October, 2013 12:03:03 CDT by Beverly.