Estill County, Kentucky

Estill Co., KY

Estill Co., KY


Estill County, the 50th in order of formation, was established on February 19, 1808, from parts of Clark and Madison counties. It was named in honor of Capt. James Estill, who was killed by Indians during Estill's Defeat or the Battle of Little Mountain on March 22, 1782 near Mount Sterling.

Reeves Mountain in Estill County was named for descendants of William Reeves who were early settlers in Estill County and once owned the mountain. http://www.mountainzone.com/mountains/detail.asp?fid=6794456

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Estill County is bordered by Clark County on the north, Powell on the northeast, Lee on the southeast, Jackson to the south and Madison County in the west.

Gleanings From

Contributors to this page: Beverly , @MartinB and .
Page last modified on Friday 25 of June, 2010 17:43:55 CDT by Beverly.