Mason Co., KY

Mason Co., KY


Mason County was first formed as a Virginia County in 1789. It was carved out of what was, then, a very large Bourbon County and is named after George Mason, the Virginian who wrote the constitution for his state, and who authored the Bill of Rights for the Nation. Mason County was the 8th county formed in Kentucky. The law enacting Mason County was passed on November 5, 1788 and the county was formed on May 1, 1789. Its boundaries are unchanged since March 27, 1890.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Mason County is bordered by Ohio counties Brown and Adams to the north across the Ohio River in addition to the Kentucky counties of Lewis, Fleming, Robertson and Bracken.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Saturday 03 of September, 2011 16:31:54 CDT by Beverly.