Iredell County, North Carolina

Iredell Co., NC

Iredell Co., NC


Iredell County was formed in 1788 from a part of Rowan County and named in honor of James Iredell, one of the Associate Judges of the Supreme Court of the United States.

At the time of the war of the Revolution the county of Rowan embraced all that beautiful and agricultural region extending from the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains, eastwardly, to where the Yadkin river loses its name in the great Peedee.

Source: http://www.northcarolinagenealogy.org/iredell/index.htm

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Yadkin County - north NE, Davie - east NE, Rowan - east, Cabarrus - south SE, Mecklenburg - south, Lincoln - south SW, Catawba - southwest, Alexander - west NW and Wilkes - north NW.

Gleanings From

Table of contents:
Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Friday 25 of June, 2010 14:08:17 CDT by Beverly.