Rockingham Co., NC

Rockingham Co., NC


Rockingham County, located in the Piedmont region of North Carolina, was initially inhabited by the Cheraw Indians and later by the English, Germans, and Scotch-Irish. Rockingham County, On 29 Dec 1785 it was formed out of the northern half of Guilford County and named after a British Prime Minister, Charles Watson-Wentworth, the Marquis de Rockingham. Interestingly, he was the Prime Minister during the Stamp Act Crisis in 1765.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Rockingham County is bordered by Caswell, Guilford, Alamance and Stokes counties in addition to the Virginia counties of Pittsylvania and Henry

Gleanings From

Table of contents:

Contributors to this page: Beverly , Richard and system .
Page last modified on Wednesday 04 of August, 2021 15:17:37 CDT by Beverly.