Camden District, SC (Extinct)

Camden District, SC (Extinct)

Camden District, SC (Extinct)


In 1768, South Carolina eliminated all of the original counties and established seven new "Districts," with governmental seats in each district. The Camden District came into being in 1769, a large area bounded by the Lynches River on the east, the Broad and Congaree Rivers on the west, extending from the North Carolina state line roughly 2/3 of the way to the coast, where is was bounded by the Georgetown District.

...In 1785, seven newly-defined "counties" were created wholly within the existing Camden District - Chester, Claremont, Clarendon, Fairfield, Lancaster, Richland, and York - but, the overarching Camden District remained intact. The town of Camden was always its district seat.

In 1800, South Carolina abolished all "overarching Districts" and essentially went with the county concept from that year forward. However, in 1800, all counties were now called "districts" and would continue being called districts until after the US Civil War. In 1868, South Carolina reverted back to the term "county" and this term has been used continuously since then.
Sources: SC GenWeb Project at http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~scoldcam/ and Carolina at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Counties/camden_district_sc.html

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Wednesday 04 of January, 2012 05:16:16 CST by Beverly.