Cheraws District, SC (Extinct)

Cheraws District, SC (Extinct)

Cheraws District, SC (Extinct)


In 1768, South Carolina eliminated all of the original counties and established seven new "overarching Districts," with judicial seats in each district. The Act creating these new districts was nullified by the British Parliament, but the re-introduction of the Act in 1769 was approved. From 1769 to 1785, these districts remained intact, however, the district seats did change some during that time-frame. After the American Revolution in 1785, South Carolina re-established the concept of counties and thirty-four (34) "new" counties were defined and established. Each of these new counties were "subsets" of, and subordinate to, the "overarching Districts" that had been in existence since 1769. Some of the newly-defined counties were abolished between 1785 and 1800, whereas other newly-defined counties were created during that period.

In 1785, three newly-defined "counties" were created wholly within the existing Cheraws District - Chesterfield, Darlington, and Marlboro - but, the overarching Cheraws District remained intact. At this time, the District Seat was relocated from the town of Long Bluff to Cheraw.

In 1800, South Carolina abolished all "overarching Districts" and essentially went with the county concept from that year forward. However, in 1800, all counties were now called "districts" and would continue being called districts until after the U.S. Civil War. In 1868, South Carolina reverted back to the term "county" and this term has been used continuously since then.
Source: http://www.carolana.com/SC/Counties/cheraws_district_sc.html

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

This District contained the modern day counties of Chesterfield, Darlington, and Marlboro.

Gleanings from