Lincoln County, Tennessee

Lincoln Co., TN

Lincoln County, TN


The Cherokees and Chickasaws ceded the land that comprises Lincoln County in 1806. Settlers arrived almost immediately, although surveyors and prospective settlers came as early as 1784 to establish boundaries for Revolutionary War land warrants.

Lincoln County was created by an act of the Legislature in 1809 from Bedford County and named in honor of Benjamin Lincoln (1733-1810), American Revolutionary officer and U.S. secretary of war. In 1835 a part of the territory now constituted in Marshall County was taken from the original Lincoln County, and in 1872 Moore County was created, embracing a part of Lincoln.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Lincoln County is bounded on the north by the counties of Marshall, Bedford, and Moore; on the east by Franklin; on the south by the State of Alabama; and on the west by Giles County.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Saturday 23 of April, 2011 22:13:07 CDT by Beverly.