Loudoun County, Virginia

Loudoun Co., VA

Loudoun County, VA


Loudoun County constitutes a part of the five million acre Northern Neck of Virginia Proprietary granted by King Charles II of England to seven noblemen in 1649. This grant, later known as the Fairfax Proprietary, lay between the Potomac and Rappahannock Rivers. Between 1653 and 1730, Westmoreland, Stafford and Prince William Counties were formed within the Proprietary, and in 1742 the remaining land was designated Fairfax County.

Settling of the Loudoun area began between 1725 and 1730, while it was still owned by Lord Fairfax. Permanent settlers came from Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Maryland. During the same period, settlers from eastern Virginia of English Cavalier stock came to lower Loudoun and established large tobacco plantations.

In 1757, by act of the Virginia House of Burgesses, Fairfax County was divided. The western portion was named Loudoun for John Campbell, Fourth Earl of Loudoun, a Scottish nobleman who served as Commander-in-Chief for all British armed forces in North America and titular Governor of Virginia from 1756 to 1768.
Source History of Loudoun County, Virginia

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Loudoun County is bordered by Fairfax, Prince William, Fauquier and Clarke counties as well as Jefferson County, West Virginia. Across the Potomac River in Maryland, other adjacent counties are Washington, Frederick and Montgomery.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Sunday 01 of July, 2012 08:49:22 CDT by Beverly.