Nansemond Co., VA (Extinct)


Nansemond County is an extinct county that existed from 1646 until 1972. The county was originally part of the Elizabeth City Shire.

Elizabeth City County was created as an original shire in 1634 and up until that time was known as Kecoughton. Two years after its creation, the burgesses took a portion south of the James River and created New Norfolk County. In 1637, they divided New Norfolk into Upper Norfolk and Lower Norfolk. Upper Norfolk became Nansemond (Nansimum/Nunsimund) County in 1645. In 1769 two transfers of territory were made to Isle of Wight County involving all lands west of Chuckatuck Creek. In 1772, the territory known as Rascow's Neck was also transferred to Isle of Wight. And, in 1785, the portion of the county south of the Blackwater and Nottoway rivers went to Southampton County. Nansemond merged with the Independent City of Suffolk in 1974.

Source: "Parker Family Notes', http://www.nhn.ou.edu/~parker/Genealogy/Ancestors.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Extinct County

Gleanings From

Contributors to this page: @TRP-GC , Richard and system .
Page last modified on Friday 25 of May, 2012 06:51:46 CDT by @TRP-GC.