Ohio County, Virginia

Ohio Co., VA

Ohio County, VA

Ohio County is one of the counties which separated from Virginia to form West Virginia in 1863.


The county was formed in 1776 from the District of West Augusta, Virginia. It was named for the Ohio River, which forms its western boundary with the state of Ohio. West Liberty (formerly Black's Cabin) was designated as the county seat in 1777, serving to 1797.

In 1863, West Virginia's counties were divided into civil townships, with the intention of encouraging local government. This proved impractical in the heavily rural state, and in 1872 the townships were converted into magisterial districts. Ohio County was divided into five districts: Center, Clay, Liberty, Madison, Richland, Ritchie, Triadelphia, Union, Washington, and Webster. Centre, Clay, Madison, Union, and Webster Districts all lay within the city of Wheeling, as did part of Washington District.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Brooke County (north)
Washington County, Pennsylvania (east)
Marshall County (south)
Belmont County, Ohio (west)
Jefferson County, Ohio (northwest)

Gleanings from