London (LDN), England

London (LDN)

London (LDN), England

Location and Adjacent Counties

The administrative County of London was only created in 1889 being formed from the City of London and parts of the ancient counties of Essex, Kent, Surrey and Middlesex. It was abolished in 1965 on the creation of Greater London, which took in the whole of Middlesex and further parts of Essex, Kent, Surrey and Hertfordshire, the so called, outer London Boroughs.

The historical county bordered Essex to the north east, Kent to the south east, Surrey the south west and Middlesex to the north west.

For additional information see

It is proposed we follow the example set by the LDS and GenUKI and restrict parish information here to the City of London only.

Gleanings From