Poinsett Co., Arkansas

Poinsett Co., AR

Poinsett County, AR


Poinsett County was created on 28 February 1838 and was formed from Greene and St. Francis Counties. It was named after Joel R. Poinsett of South Carolina, then a U.S. secretary of war. Located in the Delta, its land is suited for agriculture. The county seat originated at Bolivar and was moved to Harrisburg in 1856.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Craighead County (north)
Mississippi County (east)
Crittenden County (southeast)
Cross County (south)
Jackson County (west)

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Pamela G. B. and system .
Page last modified on Thursday 16 of December, 2010 16:17:46 CST by Pamela G. B..