Fayetta County, Georgia

Fayette Co., GA

Fayette Co., GA


Fayette County was created on May 15, 1821. It was named for the Marquis de Lafayette. It was enacted as a result of the Land Lottery Draw of 1821. The land was ceded from the Creek Indian Nation and five new counties were created: Fayette, Henry, Houston, Dooly, Monroe, and Fayette is therefore an original county (not created from other counties) and the 49th county in Georgia.

Because some of the new settlers were Revolutionary War veterans, it is surmised that they were the ones instrumental in naming the county for the Marquis de LaFayette, who fought alongside General George Washington in that war.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Fayette County is bordered by Fulton, Clayton, Spalding and Coweta counties.

Gleanings From

Table of contents:
Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Friday 09 of December, 2016 10:42:30 CST by Beverly.