Hall County, Georgia

Hall Co., GA

Hall County, GA


Hall County was created on December 15, 1818, from Cherokee lands ceded by the Treaty of Cherokee Agency (1817) and Treaty of Washington (1819). The County is named for Dr. Lyman Hall, a signer of the Declaration of Independence and governor of Georgia as both colony and state.

Early settlers were largely Scots-Irish, English, and German stock from the Carolinas and Virginia, chiefly Baptists, Methodists, and Presbyterians. The discovery of gold north of Hall in 1828 attracted thousands of newcomers to the area. With the discovery of gold in Lumpkin and White counties to the north in 1829, Gainesville in Hall County became the trading and supply center for North America's first gold rush.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Hall County is bordered by White, Habersham, Banks, Jackson, Barrow, Gwinnett, Forsyth, Dawson and Lumpkin Counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly .
Page last modified on Saturday 10 of December, 2016 08:36:27 CST by Beverly.