Hancock County, Georgia

Hancock Co., GA

Hancock County, GA


Hancock County lies between the Oconee and Ogeechee rivers, in east central Georgia. It was created on December 17, 1793 and was named in honor of John Hancock, signer of the Declaration of Independence.

The area attracted Revolutionary War veterans from Virginia, the Carolinas, and New England, who came to take advantage of the 1806 land lottery. These early settlers carved a refined community out of frontier forests.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Hancock County is bordered by Taliaferro, Warren, Glascock, Washington, Baldwin, Putnam and Greene Counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and Richard .
Page last modified on Friday 14 of December, 2012 13:53:00 CST by Beverly.