Talbot County, Georgia

Talbot Co., GA

Talbot County, GA


Talbot County was created by an act of the Georgia legislature in 1827. The county was formerly a part of Muscogee County and named for Captain Matthew Talbot, who served as Georgia's governor for a short time in 1819. In 1836 the last of the Creek Indians were forcibly removed from the area.
Source: New Georgia Encyclopedia

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Talbot County is bordered by Upson, Taylor, Marion, Chattahoochee, Muscogee, Harris and Meriwether counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Saturday 10 of December, 2016 10:06:02 CST by Beverly.