Walton County, Georgia

Walton Co., GA

Walton Co., GA


When the first effort was made to settle the Cherokee Country in 1802 a new county was projected to be called Walton, and a bill was passed to lay it out. The act was never carried into effect, but in 1818 a new county bearing the same name was provided for, and it was organized. Walton, Georgia's 43rd county, was created on December 15, 1818, from land originally held by both the Cherokee and Creek Indians and was named for George Walton, a signer of the Declaration of Independence and briefly the governor of Georgia. It was laid out by the lottery act in 1818 and a part of Jackson County was added to it the following year.

The first place at which court was held was the Cowpen, which was two miles from Monroe.
Source: New Georgia Encyclopedia and Walton County, Georgia Genealogy Trails

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Walton County is bordered by Barrow, Oconee, Morgan, Newton, Rockdale and Gwinnett counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Saturday 10 of December, 2016 10:23:29 CST by Beverly.