Washington County, GA

Washington Co., GA

Washington County, GA


Washington County in east-middle Georgia was established on February 25, 1784. Georgia's tenth county, named for U.S. president George Washington, was settled by Revolutionary War veterans who were awarded grants to Creek and Cherokee lands. Beginning in 1786, seven counties plus portions of nine more were eventually cut from the original Washington County.

When Creek Indian leader Alexander McGillivray renounced the treaty that gave the state rights to this land, the resultant tensions grew into the Oconee War, a dispute that kept the frontier uneasy for 20 years.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Washington County is bordered by Glascock, Jefferson, Johnson, Wilkinson, Baldwin and Hancock counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Richard and Beverly .
Page last modified on Wednesday 12 of December, 2012 09:07:08 CST by Richard.