Craven County, North Carolina

Craven Co., NC

Craven Co., NC


Craven County was created in 1705 as the Archdale Precinct of now extinct Bath County. The name was changed in 1712 in honor of one of the Lords Proprietors of the Colony, William Lord Craven.

It was established in its present form in 1712. New Bern became its county seat in 1722, and was also the capital of the colony and first state capital until 1794. Because of its location, situated between the Albemarle and Cape Fear, Craven County grew in size and importance during the mid 18th century due to the significance of its county seat as a river port.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Craven County is bordered by Beaufort, Pamlico, Carteret, Jones, Lenoir & Pitt counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Thursday 16 of December, 2010 16:11:36 CST by Beverly.