Fayette County, TN

Fayette Co., TN

Fayette Co., TN


The Tennessee General Assembly established Fayette County on September 29, 1824, and named it in honor of the Marquis de Lafayette, a French general and statesman. The county seat, Somerville, was named in honor of Lieutenant Robert Somerville, a hero of the battle of Tohopeka in Alabama.

Settlement began in the area as early as 1820, and by 1826 there were enough residents for the incorporation of the two oldest towns, Somerville and LaGrange. In both towns restored antebellum homes symbolize the wealth and culture of the plantation period. The entire town of LaGrange, named for Lafayette's ancestral home, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Today there are nine incorporated towns in the county: Braden, Gallaway, LaGrange, Moscow, Oakland, Piperton, Rossville, Somerville, and Williston.

Source- http://tennesseeencyclopedia.net

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Haywood County, TN - (north)
Hardeman County, TN - (east)
Benton County, Mississippi - (southeast)
Marshall County, Mississippi - (south)
Shelby County, TN - (west)
Tipton County, TN - (northwest)

Gleanings From