Stafford Co., VA


The territory that became Stafford County was first a part of Northumberland which included the entire Northern Neck. Westmoreland County was carved from the upper part of Northumberland.

Stafford County was created in 1664 from Westmoreland County. The new county included all territory between the Rapphannock and Potomac rivers. At that time Stafford included all of what later became Prince William, Fairfax, Faquier, Loudon, and Alexandria (renamed Arlington in 1920).

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Fauquier County
Prince William County
Charles County
King George County
Caroline County
Fredericksburg County
Spotsylvania County
Culpeper County

Gleanings From

Table of contents:

Contributors to this page: Richard and system .
Page last modified on Thursday 02 of September, 2010 13:13:53 CDT by Richard.