Campbell County, Georgia

Campbell Co., GA

Campbell County, GA


Campbell County was created by the state legislature on December 20, 1828 from land taken from Fayette, Coweta and Carroll counties, along with the half of DeKalb County which became Fulton County soon afterward. Georgia's Cherokee Land Lottery of 1832 also added to the county. It was named for Duncan G. Campbell, one of the U.S. commissioners responsible for the Treaty of Indian Springs Acquisition.

The county existed for one hundred and four years. The northwestern half of Campbell (and a bit more of Carroll) became Douglas County in 1870, divided on October 17 at the Chattahoochee River. The remainder of Campbell County was ceded to Fulton County at the end of 1931, along with Milton County, to save money.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Campbell County was bordered by Carroll, Paulding, Cobb, DeKalb, Fayette and Coweta counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly .
Page last modified on Monday 13 of April, 2015 12:21:12 CDT by Beverly.