Meriwether Co., GA

Meriwether Co., GA

Meriwether County, GA


Meriwether County was formed on December 14, 1827 as the 73rd county in Georgia. The land in Meriwether County was originally held by the Creek Indians. It is named for David Meriwether, a Revolutionary War general remembered for his accomplishments as an interpreter for Creek Indians, a state legislator, and a U.S. congressman.

Warm Springs, with Franklin D. Roosevelt's Little White House, is a major attraction in Meriwether County. In association with the historic home, the Georgia Department of Natural Resources operates a state park.
Source: New Georgia Encyclopedia

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Meriwether County is bordered by Coweta, Spalding, Pike, Upson, Talbot, Harris and Troup counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Saturday 10 of December, 2016 09:17:44 CST by Beverly.