Reaves, James V. (1769 VA - 1860 TN)

James V. Reaves

Reaves, James V.


Father: John Reaves, Sr.
Mother: Elizabeth Fox

Birth: c1766-1769, Virginia or North Carolina
Birth Source: 1850 Census of Maury County, Tennessee

Death: Jan 1860, Maury County, Tennessee
Death Source: 1860 Mortality Schedule

Spouse1: Margaret "Peggy" Ayres


Children of James V. Reaves and Margaret Ayres:
  1. John Reaves, b. 13 Aug 1800, m. Jane Oakley on 4 Nov 1828
  2. James V. Reaves, Jr., b. 1807 Kentucky, m. Ruth D. Oakley on 12 Aug 1829
  3. Robert A. Reaves, b. 1811 Tennessee, m. Henrietta Warfield on 26 Nov 1837
  4. William R. Reaves, b. 1812, m1. Malaha C. MNU, m2. Margaret Johnson on 4 Jun 1855
From A History of Hickman County Tenn, by by W. Jerome & David L. Spence, p. 149, pub. Gospel Advocate Pub. Co. 1900

"Just below the mouth of Gin Hollow (or Branch), near a good spout spring, lives Jerome Reeves, one of Hickman County's best citizens. He is a son of John Reeves, who was born in Kentucky on August 13, 1800. John Reeves was a son of James Reeves, who was born in Greene County, Tenn., in 1778 (sic?), and who married Peggy Ayres, of Kentucky. John Reeves came with his father to Maury County in 1805."

This would appear to be the James Reeves who is listed in the Williamson County tax list in 1807 and various Maury County tax lists beginning 1808.

James bought land from David and Mary Mitchell, executors of Andrew Mitchell's estate in 1821. On the same day he bought another tract of land from William Fly.

Jas Reeves, age 94, born in North Carolina is listed on the 1860 Mortality schedule for Maury County as having died in January.


Williamson County, Tennessee Tax Lists
Maury County, Tennessee Tax Lists
1821 Deed - Mary & David Mitchell to James Reeves, Maury County, Tennessee Deed Book L, p310
1821 Deed - William Fly to James Reaves, Maury County, Tennessee Deed Book L, p. 489
1850 Will of James Reaves - Maury County, Tennessee Will Book A Vol 1, p. 187
1840 Census - Maury County, Tennessee
1850 Census - Maury County, Tennessee
1860 Mortality Schedule - Maury County, Tennessee