Carroll County, TN

Carroll Co., TN

Carroll Co., TN


The Tennessee General Assembly created Carroll County on November 7, 1821, and named it for the governor, William Carroll. The area from which the county was taken had been part of the Western District, which was controlled by the Chickasaws until ceded in the Jackson Purchase of 1818. Settlers began to move into the area in 1820, where they found abundant game, fertile land, and large forests. Grass-covered areas known as “barrens” provided pasturage for livestock and easy cultivation. Realizing that the temperate climate and natural resources offered a bright future, the settlers established firm roots in the county and founded a number of communities and towns that continue today, including McKenzie, Trezevant, Bruceton, Atwood, McLemoresville, Clarksburg, and Huntingdon.
Source: https://tennesseeencyclopedia.net/entries/carroll-county/

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Henry County, TN (northeast)
Benton County, TN (east)
Decatur County, TN (southeast)
Henderson County, TN (south)
Madison County, TN (southwest)
Gibson County, TN (west)
Weakley County, TN (northwest)

Gleanings from