Troup County, Georgia

Troup Co., GA

Troup County, GA


Troup County, Georgia's sixty-third, was established on the border of Alabama, along with four other counties, by an act of the state legislature in 1825 from lands ceded by the Creek people in the Treaty of Indian Springs. Georgia governor George Troup, for whom the county was named, signed an act organizing the former Creek Indian lands into counties.
Source: New Georgia Encyclopedia

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Troup County is bordered by Coweta, Meriwether, Harris and Heard Counties in Georgia as well as the Alabama Counties of Chambers and

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and Richard .
Page last modified on Saturday 10 of December, 2016 10:09:32 CST by Beverly.