Logan County, Kentucky

Logan Co., KY

Logan Co., KY


The county was the thirteenth of 120 counties formed, attaining separate status in September 1792 after the state separated from Virginia in June of 1792. Fincastle County, Virginia, from which Kentucky was formed was the frontier county of Virginia from 1772 through 1776. When it was dissolved, Kentucky County, Virginia, was formed. In May 1780, three counties were formed, Fayette, Jefferson and Lincoln from Kentucky County, Virginia. Further divisions were made with additions of Nelson, Bourbon, Mercer, Madison, Mason, Woodford by the time Kentucky became a state. When the first legislature met, they added Washington, Shelby, Scott, Logan, Clark, Hardin and Green Counties.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Logan County, Kentucky is situated in the southwestern part of the state and is one of the southern tier of counties bordering the northern Tennessee line. Logan County is bounded on the north by Muhlenberg and Butler Counties, on the east by Warren and Simpson Counties, on the west by Todd County, and on the south by Robertson County, Tennessee.

Gleanings From

Contributors to this page: Beverly .
Page last modified on Friday 25 of June, 2010 17:51:23 CDT by Beverly.