Madison County, Tennessee

Madison Co., TN

Madison County, TN


The numerous mounds in Madison County indicate that the area was once the home of a populous community of prehistoric people.

Madison County was created on November 7, 1821, from Chickasaw Indian lands, and was named in honor of President James Madison. The first courthouse was completed in September, 1822 and Jackson, the county seat, was named for Andrew Jackson.

Modern Day Adjacent Counties

Madison County is bordered by Gibson, Carroll, Henderson, Chester, Hardeman, Haywood and Crockett counties.

Gleanings from

Contributors to this page: Beverly and system .
Page last modified on Monday 16 of May, 2011 21:30:26 CDT by Beverly.